Segovia Day Trip!

So that same weekend we went to Toledo on Saturday, we went to Segovia on Sunday! Segovia is an hour North of Madrid and is similar to Toledo in that it is a smaller town with much more beautiful architecture and touristy things to see. My group mostly agreed that Toledo was a better experience because there was more to see and we just had an all around better day there. That being said, we also agreed that out of the fewer things to see in Segovia, they were actually more beautiful. There were three main things to see in Segovia.

1) The Aquaduct. Holy hell. This was the most amazing structure I have probably ever seen in my life (though this opinion may change over the course of my semester abroad…) 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sorry for the excessive photos, I just can’t get over how pretty it was. It was originally build with no cement foundation and no substance holding the stones together. Just gravity and something to do with physics (that I don’t remember the name of). 

I had about 5 heart attacks during this trip because the boys kept wanting to climb to sketchy places to get photos and me being the mama bear / worry wart that I am kept getting scared that someone would fall or something terrible would happen. I yelled at them every time. 

Image

Image

Image

Alright, this one was fake. He would have been fine dropping the 5 or 6 feet down 🙂 

Image

2) The Cathedral. This out does any other cathedral I’ve seen in Spain this far, even the one in Toledo. What is with Spain and beautiful churches? I don’t know what this one was called but the weather was perfect and I caught some great pictures of it. On the way back we even caught it with the sun setting and the lighting was perfect.

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

One more picture of the boys terrifying me… below this was about 100 foot drop. Everyone kept coming up to us telling us how dangerous it was for them to sit there eating their sandwiches. Believe me, I knew.

Image

Image

3) The Castle. I didn’t get the best photos from the outside of it because I would have had to be far away from it to capture its’ full beauty. Please google Castle in Segovia though and you will know what I’m talking about. We paid to enter it and even got to climb to the highest tower! 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Well, that’s pretty much all for Segovia. These two day trips were definitely worth going on. It’s always nice to learn more about the country that I’m living in and to see how cities differ from each other. Next, I’ll update you on my weekend to Valencia, the Real Madrid game and Oktoberfest!

 

Miss you guys xoxo,

Adrienne

 

Leave a Reply

